The E-Mails: Part 3 “Hearing the Call”

Read “The E-Mail That Started It All” HERE

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Fri, 19 Feb 1999 12:28:06

Subject: Re: You are more than welcome:-)

Hello Aaron! 🙂
i was just hanging out in the computer lab thinking about how wonderful it was not to have any classes today. 🙂 and how i could sit here taking as much time as i want to write you. wow, i don’t what i am going to do with all of this free time today. i guess i’ll just have to suffer through it (he he:)
it’s just so nice not to have every minute of my day scheduled for one thing or another. life has been a lot simpler since i finished my friend’s recital.
well, i’m sorry that i made your muscles sore from smiling too much. it wasn’t my intention. . .to make your muscles sore that is 🙂
however, you have made my ears hurt quite a bit. 🙂 🙂
since you “re-emphasized” what a great time you had last weekend, let me “re-re-emphasize” how much i fun had. i would definitely like to get together again. however, i think that it is your turn to decide. it would probably be best to do a group thing again, but i would like more time talk to you at get to know you better. i am much better at talking than writing! 🙂 if you have any ideas, just let me know!
jennifer

_________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Sun, 21 Feb 1999 22:39:16
Subject: Time on my hands… and a smile on my face:-)

Jennifer:-)

Well, maybe I’m not really as lucky as you are… in that, I don’t actually have time on my hands… but I do have a great big smile on my face right now:-) And I just want you to know that I assign you all the blame;-) In other words… it’s good to hear from you:-):-):-) Thank you for brightening my day:-)

I would definitely like to have more time to talk with you:-)
Unfortunately ( I mean that) I don’t really have a Saturday free until March 6th:-( B/c this Saturday I will be at an all-day, tri-state conference for cell-group leaders. Don’t get me wrong… I’ll enjoy the conference, but I’ll miss the opportunity to spend time with you:-( I just really enjoy your company:-) But anyway, are you available on the 6th? I haven’t decided what yet, but there is going to be another worship service that night. And I know for sure that I’d like to go to that:-) I love getting together with other brothers and sisters to worship the Lord:-) Does that much sound okay? I was thinking about supper somewhere other than Chuck’s — don’t get me wrong… I like eating there, but I’m sure you’re probably a little tired of that:-) Ohh… and I know that your budget is tight, but don’t worry… it would be my pleasure:-) I’ll let you know more shortly. I hope you’re available:-) And thanks once again for the smile:-)

:-):-) Aaron (-:(-:

I’m sure that by the time you get a chance to read this you’ll be busy again, but if not… enjoy your free time:-)

P.S. Tell **** I said hi, and thanks for the favor… when does she leave?

P.P.S. HE is soooo AWESOME:-)  Keep your focus on HIM:-)

__________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Wed, 24 Feb 1999 01:47:19

Subject: Re: Time on my hands… and a smile on my face:-)

Aaron,
Hey there! 🙂 how’s that smile doing? Mine is doing quite well. . .especially knowing that I helped to brighten your day. of course I am completely baffled as to why and email from little ol’ me would have such an effect. especially since I am probably the worst emailer in all of cyberworld. I think that I am getting better though 🙂 🙂
so, how have things been for you? it sounds like you are going to have an exciting weekend. what all will you be doing at the Cell group conference? Is there anything that I can pray about?
my week has been pretty good so far. on sunday, I went to a new church in Kettering and I had a wonderful time of worship. unfortunately I did have ulterior motives for going. just recently I have been seriously considering going to Southern Baptist theological seminary in louisville and the church in kettering is southern baptist (there’s a tuition discount for being a member of a southern baptist church) (****special note: this is a terrible reason to go to a church! Shame on me!****) I can’t believe that I am actually thinking about going to seminary. . .i mean, I used to joke about going to seminary, but I was never serious about it. God works in such mysterious ways. . . this whole month, I have have had an unsettled feeling about going to graduate school next year. and my mom, out of the blue decides to get me information on seminary with a music degree. if i went to southern baptist seminary I would have to major in church music and then possibly double in composition. it is still really scary, but i know that my heart is in serving God and the church, I just don’t know which road God has planned for me to take. . .i guess i’ll just have to trust Him 🙂 🙂
well, sorry to go on like that. i guess that has been weighing heavy on my mind lately. i’ll write about something more fun now. . .like march 6th! 🙂 I have you already written in my calendar. I am sure whatever you decide for us to do will be just great 🙂 hopefully we will have more time to chat. well, it is definitely pass my bed time so I must cease my emailing frenzy. . .well, for me it’s a frenzy 🙂
I hope that you have a wonderful Wednesday! hope to hear from you soon 🙂
Jennifer
p.s. I can tell my roommate “hi” and I can tell her thanks. . .but I am confused as to why I must ask her when she is leaving. why is my roommate leaving?
P.s.
“Remain in me, and i will remain in you. for a branch will not produce fruit if it is severed from the vine. and apart from me you can do nothing. yes, i am the true vine and you are the branches. remain in me, and I in you, and you will produce fruit. you cannot produce fruit apart from me.”
well, I tried to type john 15:4,5 from memory, but i got it a little mixed up. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Thu, 25 Feb 1999 22:45:18
Subject: !!!!!WOW!!!!!

Jennifer:-) … Jennifer:-) … Jennifer:-) … Jennifer:-)…

Oops….. sorry….. I was daydreaming;-)

I couldn’t help it. i just got this great e-mail:-) Maybe you know the one I’m talking about? It was so long I had to check three times to be sure it was from you;-) Oh, by the way, feel free to “go on like that” anytime:-)

I figure, either you have a bunch of time on your hands (yeah right;-), or you are determined to give me permanent smile wrinkles:-):-):-):-):-):-)

At the risk of being redundant…. thanks for brightening my week:-)
Yes… little ol’ you:-)

I can’t think very straight right now (my smile is getting in the way:-)… but it sure seems like I’ve had a great week… thanks for asking:-)

I’m glad to hear your week’s been “pretty good”… but I hope this e-mail puts a GREAT ending on it:-):-):-):-)

I couldn’t help but notice that you sound a little stressed about the decisions your facing. Believe me… I know what you’re going through:-) I don’t want to give you a sermon, but perhaps this verse I’ve been hiding in my heart will help direct you: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and i will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jer. 29:11-13) So many things jump out at me when I read this verse.

First, He is in control:-) The words “I know”… an awesome reminder that God knows what turn is ahead on our roads of life:-) And even though He doesn’t always see fit to let us peek at the road map, He is still in control:-)

Second, He is gracious:-) “plans to prosper… to give you hope and a future.” He is still working all things together for good for those who love Him:-)

Third, He is listening:-) “I will listen to you.” Did you catch that? The All-Powerful Creator of the universe—all that we know, and even that which we don’t—is concerned about us enough to listen:-) He’s not just hearing… and this isn’t just something he was doing way back in the Old Testament…no… He is still listening:-)

Finally, he is reachable:-) “You will… find ME.” He doesn’t leave any leeway for guessing. He says “you will.” There’s no way around it, He’s not some untouchable. Our God is still very much reachable:-)

There are some requirements though… “you will call upon me and come and pray to me… you will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Let Him know what’s on your heart. Keep your focus on Him for one day at a time. And most importantly, daily and consciously make Him your very heartbeat…. Turn your eyes upon Jesus. Look full in His wonderful face, and the things of earth will grow strangely dim… in the light of His glory and grace:-)

I don’t know, maybe I’m “preaching to the choir”… it sounds like you’ve already figured it out:-) Well, at least maybe this verse will be a good reminder and encouragement for you:-)

Enough with the preaching already…. the motives are good anyway:-)

Thanks for sharing your heart with me “I know that my heart is in serving God and the church.” It’s encouraging to know that you are devoted to serving Him even though you don’t know what lies ahead:-) That’s pretty much the way I feel. The future is pretty foggy as to what and where. The only thing that is clear is that my life will not be complete unless I am serving God with all that I am:-):-)

I’m not exactly sure what i am going to be doing this weekend a the conference. I just know that there will be two guest speakers who have been involved in effective cell-groups for over a decade. Apart from some training we will probably share testimonies, have a time of worship and fellowship, and just generally encourage each other. I’m looking forward to meeting other on-fire Christians:-) I am also taking Jacob with me. When our cell-group reaches a consistent 15, we will give birth to a new cell. I am discipling Jacob into a leader for that cell-group (spiritual multiplication). It is so awesome to be a part of His ministry:-):-):-):-):-)

One final thing. Have you ever played Q-zar before? (Q-what?) It’s a game where you strap on body armor and shoot at each other with guns. Sound like fun?:-) Yeah, that’s what I figure. No better way to nurture a relationship than to strap on some electrical equipment and shoot at each other with laser beams:-) I know it sounds cheesy, but it really is a lot of fun. Anyway, let me know if you think that might even possibly be fun:-) I promise I won’t take offense if you give the thumbs-down on that one:-)

Did I say one final thing? I meant second to last final thing:-) How busy is your March schedule? There are a bunch of neat things going on this month that you might be interested in. For example on Sunday the 14th, you, and anyone else you would like to invite, might be interested in visiting my church and then coming to a Sunday afternoon dinner for the whole Common Ground (college & career) class. My parents are paying for it as  my birthday present. And/or on Sunday the 28th, in the evening, our choir will be putting on an advanced preview of our Easter cantata (I have solo:-) Well, something to consider anyway:-):-):-)

little ol’ me,
Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘\\\><

P.S. Is it just me or has time seemed to slow down in anticipation of the 6th?:-) Oh well, it’s probably just me:-):-):-):-):-)

P.S.S. I thought Dawn said she would be leaving to do student teaching? Apparently I heard wrong. Sorry:-(

P.S.S.S. Thanks for trying with John 15:4-5:-):-):-)

P.S.S.S.S. If you really want something to pray about… please pray for a man from work named ****  (This is a private prayer request so the details are not recorded here)

P.S.S.S.S.S. You can count on me praying for wisdom for the decisions you are facing:-):-)

P.S.S.S.S.S.S. Boy this one was long:-)

P.S.S.S.S.S.S.S. Sorry it was so long:-(

P.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S. What does “P.S.” mean anyway?

P.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S. I don’t think I’m really allowed to just keep adding s’s am I?

P.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S. Please help me:-) I can’t stop:-)

P.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S.S. I think I’ve got it under control now 😉 🙂

___________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Sun, 28 Feb 1999 16:40:27

Subject: hey there!

hi Aaron,
I didn’t mean to startle you so much with my last email. although I did like your reaction.  did I mention that I enjoy getting your emails? You are a very good writer, even though some of your kind comments make me blush. . .but i’m not complaining 🙂
I just got off of the phone with my friend *** (this part is a private prayer request so the details are not recorded here) Well, anyways, if you could pray for him that would be great. . .oops, I did it again. . . you know, “going on like that” 🙂 thanks for listening. . . .er. . .reading 🙂
well, hopefully today you are reflecting on this weekend’s wonderful conference. How did it go? I think that it is great that jacob is getting involved like this. I remember in one of your first emails you mentioned him recently getting right with God. it is so amazing how much has happened to him since then. tell jacob and shiela that I said “hi”. I told my roommate what you had said and she laughed 🙂 she’s not going anywhere for student teaching. she will be teaching at a nearby school and still living with me, and that’s good thing or I would be very lonely. she says “hi” to you too 🙂
thank you for your encouraging words concerning my concerns. I really, really, REALLY appreciate it. lately God has seemed to be reassuring my desire to go into ministry, but then I have doubts and think that I am just imagining it. thank you for reminding me that God is listening to me and i don’t have to figure this out on my own. well, anyways, about this Q-zar thing (i have never heard of this before). . .do you have this equipment or is this a place? if you say it is fun, then I trust you 🙂 all I ask is that we have some time to talk. . .it’s my favorite form of communication, even though I am sure that shooting at each other has it’s benefits 🙂 🙂
I didn’t know that your birthday was coming up. is it march 14? I would love to come to your church that day, but I think that is about the time that our spring vacation starts. the last possible day I can be on campus is march 13. however, as long as march 28th isn’t during easter vacation, I can come then and hear you sing 🙂 🙂 I would enjoy that.
well, I better get going before you go in to shock over the length of my email 🙂 I think that am getting better at this email thing 🙂
what do you think?
jennifer
P.S. did ****** come to church today?

______________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Sun, 28 Feb 1999 22:39:27

Subject: 🙂 🙂 Guess Who 🙂 🙂

Jennifer,

I was just smiling about you, and I thought I’d let you know 🙂

Have a great week 🙂 🙂 🙂

Aaron

_______________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Tue, 2 Mar 1999 23:24:35

Subject: God is AWESOME!!!!!!! 🙂  🙂 🙂 🙂

Jennifer 🙂

… just typing your name puts a smile on my face 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

I want to write you really, really bad, but I absolutely do not have time tonight. God is doing soo many awesome things!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I can’t wait to tell you 🙂 But for now you’ll just have to wait. I’ll have time to tell you tomorrow. I just wanted you to know that I haven’t forgotten you… yeah… like I could do that!?! 🙂

anxiously waiting for a chance to tell you more,
Aaron

P.S.  I know I’ve told you before, but… you have a beautiful heart! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

_____________________________________________

Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Thu, 4 Mar 1999 03:40:59

Subject: “Let your “yes” be “yes,” and your “no” be “no,”.

Jennifer 🙂  ….aaahhh…….. there’s that smile again 🙂 🙂

I told you that I would write you today. Well, this isn’t quite what I had in mind, but Matthew 5:37 says… “Let your “yes” be “yes,” and your “no” be “no,”. I told you I would…. and I did. I really can’t wait to write you, but right now it is 3:35a.m. and I have to be up for work in 25 min. Uhhhhhhhgggggggghhhhhh. I’m tired.

“Why have you been so busy?”

This is the cool part. God has been doing unbelievable things since last Saturday (thanks for your prayers 🙂 I can’t wait to tell you 🙂 But anyway, God has been keeping me up in prayer and in the Word. I will write you more tomorrow… oops…. later today 🙂 🙂 🙂

I am REALLY looking forward to Saturday 🙂

In His AWESOME Service,
Aaron

(To Be Continued)

Read Part 1 HERE

Read Part 2 HERE

One thought on “The E-Mails: Part 3 “Hearing the Call”

  1. Pingback: The E-Mails: Part 2 “The First Date” – Jennifer Jolene

Leave a Reply

