The E-Mails: Part 2 “The First Date”

Read “The E-Mail That Started It All” HERE

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Tues, 02 Feb 1999 00:51:34

Subject:  Re: Ouch, Ouch, Ouch, 😦

A?,. . . Aar?,. . . Aary?,. . . Aaro?, . . . .Aarrrrrrrronnnn?
Which do you prefer? 🙂 🙂 (jk)
There aren’t as many nicknames to find in your name. 🙂

well, I just got back from spending a weekend at home and it was nice. I didn’t get back until about 3:30 p.m. today, so I missed all of my classes. Sunday was my interview at Cleveland and I just didn’t feel like driving back that night. however, I don’t think my professors are going to have much sympathy for me, oops :). Things went well in cleveland, but my chances are only about one in ten to get accepted. either way, it was a good experience or at least, that’s what I am trying make myself believe. It is hard to give things like this over to God and trust that he has the best plans for me, even if it means not getting accepted. however, if I did get accepted, i would probably be there for about two years. I still have to look at some more schools. how was your party? did a lot of people come? I didn’t get a chance to see the game myself. in fact I just found out who won. actually, come to think of it, I didn’t even know who was playing 🙂 now, if it was the world series, that would be a different story. baseball is my favorite sport, well, as long as the indians are playing of course 🙂
as a side note, I think my computer is about to explode. it is making a whirring, growling-like noise. actually, it kinda sounds like a lawn mower. that’s probably not good. oh well 🙂
anyways, . . .have you thought of any other plans for our postponed meeting?. . .just curious 🙂 well, I hope you have a wonderful night (or day depending on when you read this). hope to hear from you soon! 🙂
Jennifer
p.s. I went to get your package from the package room, but they were already closed 😦 I guess i’ll just have to be patient and wait till tomorrow.

______________________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Tues, 2 Feb 1999 22:48:00

Subject: ~~~~~Tromping Through the Mud……….

Jennifer 🙂

Okay… so I admit that my name does present a bit of a challenge when it comes to nick-names 🙂

Anyway… this note will be rather brief (you’ll have to judge whether that’s good or bad :-)….. Gee… that sounds kinda foreboding doesn’t it? Well, don’t worry 🙂 Its not bad news, just hurried 🙂 You see, I have mid-terms this week, and I should REALLY be studying right now if I expect to get a grade within the first three letters of the alphabet 🙂

On one hand the party went great. There were 25-30 people all together. Ohhh… and don’t worry about not knowing anything about football. I don’t either. I just like the commercials 🙂 But on the other hand… you weren’t there 😦 But I am excited to hear that your interview went well 🙂 And you hit the nail on the head when you said “I’m just leaving it in God’s hands.” I’ve never known a more capable set of hands 🙂 When will you know?

Well, now the tuffy. I had this great idea for something to do 🙂 Ya… you could bring a bunch of friends over for a big superbowl par……….. oops;-) I really have been thinking about it. I’m probably just stressing about it too much. It would help a bunch if you could give me some information about things you like to do… away from or close to Cedarville?… budget?…absolute no’s?… Like I said, I’m probably just thinking too hard, but this would help a bunch 🙂

I would love to write more, but I HAVE TO study 🙂 I just wanted to thank you for the reply and congratulate you for the weekend 🙂

Capriciously,

Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

P.S. I hope you like your package

___________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Tues, 2 Feb 1999 22:52:06

Subject: Here’s smiling at ya…………………….

(This e-mail from Aaron is 6 printed pages of smily faces, so you’ll just have to use your imagination)

This is just a friendly reminder of the way I feel when I think of you:-)
Have a really good day or night:-)

guess who?;-)

__________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Mon, 08 Feb 1999 01:17:25

Subject: hmmm….

Hello Aaron 🙂
I hope that you survived your mid-terms. you know, that’s probably why I have been having a lot of tests lately too. mid-terms, go figure. however, all of these tests are really getting in the way of my schoolwork 🙂 what classes are you taking? for that matter, where do you go to school? I think you told me before, but now I can’t remember.
how was your weekend? mine was pretty good. it was lil’ sibs weekend here at cedarville, so it was nice to have people around who weren’t only 18-21 years old. I had two jr. higher staying in my room and I had great time getting to know them. I also had a wonderful opportunity to help out with a youth rally in London, ohio. Jim Newsome was the special speaker for the rally and he also had sessions with the church throughout the weekend. I was able to hear him speak three time this weekend. I had no idea that God was going to teach me so much these past couple of days. God is soooooooo good to me!!!!!!!!!!
Anyways, I can’t believe you stole my pen from me. but, I guess i’ll forgive you this time since I sure do like all of those new pens I have now 🙂 seriously, thank you for going to all of that trouble to get my pen back to me. I was smiling all the way back from the package room 🙂
well, i’m trying to think of some ideas of what we could do, but honestly i’m sure we would have fun no matter what it is. i’m not a very picky girl. if we are thinking inexpensive, there’s plenty going on this weekend at cedarville. thursday, friday, and Saturday is the winter play, but it might be sold out. on Saturday there are a couple of senior recitals, including one that I am playing in during the day. Saturday night is a men’s basketball game. if you have never been to basketball game here, I would highly recommend it, and I sure wouldn’t mind going. well, if you think of anything else, just let me know and I promise not to schedule any interviews that day 🙂 well, I hope that you have a wonderful week! talk to ya soon 🙂
jennifer

____________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Mon, 8 Feb 1999 22:07:34

Subject: Sticky Fingers 🙂

Jennifer
I really am sorry about that pen:-) I promise… it wasn’t on purpose:-)  And knowing that that package put a smile on your face makes it all worth while:-) You are very welcome:-):-)

Wow!:-) Sounds like you had an action-packed weekend!:-) Where do you find the extra time to do anything extracurricular? And I have to agree with your statement, “God is so good to me!!!!!!!!!!!” As a matter of fact, that statement deserves a standing ovation of agreement!!:-) He is UNDENIABLY AWESOME!!!:-) I love meeting people who know the same God I do:-) Ya know what I mean?:-) Oh yah… my weekend was pretty good too (even though nothing much happened):-)

To tell the truth… I felt terrible asking you for ideas. You know… there’s nothing worse then going back and forth… “What do you want to do?~~ I don’t know, what ever. What do you want to do?”:-) I just don’t have much of an idea what there is to do over there (except for the usual~~Young’s, Beans & Cream, Cards, board games, yadda, yadda, eider), and I felt terrible asking you to drive this far. But as usual… your gracious heart comes shining through… “but honestly, I’m sure we would have fun no matter what it is.” :-):-) I was thinking the same thing:-):-) anyway, I had an organ transplant scheduled for this Saturday, but in light of the fact that you’ll be playing… and the fact that… I WOULDN’T MISS IT FOR THE WORLD!!!! Well… let’s just say I might be able to work it in;-) One question though (just kind of a side note) is this your senior recital, or someone else’s? And it’s not yours… I hope I haven’t already missed it:-)?:-) And if I haven’t, I hope I’m invited:-)?:-) Back to the matter at hand… let me know the time and location and all that jazz:-) I would also be interested in the play (my preference) or the game if it would work into schedules okay. Let me know the info, and I’ll invite some friends and plan on it:-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)……………………….
OOPS………….. I was thinking about the opportunity to see you again and my smile got stuck;-)

Thanks so much for brightening my day:-)

Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

P.S. yes… I did tell you (but that’s okay). I go to Sinclair. I’m taking the last class I can take there before transferring. Then it’s off to Cedarville to finish my degree (hopefully:-) I’ll probably transfer to Wright State for Spring and/or summer… just to keep in the groove:-)

P.S.S. Here’s one of my favorite hymns to brighten your day:-) (I’m singing it, but of course, you can’t hear it:-)

“Turn your eyes upon Jesus:-)
Look full in His wonderful face:-) 🙂
And the things of Earth will grow strangely dim:-):-):-)
In the light of his glory and grace:-):-):-):-)”

It puts a smile on my face just thinking about Him
:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

:-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

_____________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Wed, 10 Feb 1999 14:59:237

Subject: oh what a beautiful morning…

well, it’s actually mid-afternoon, but that wouldn’t sound as good. “oh what a beautiful mid-afternoon” 🙂
actually, it is an incredible day! I just love this weather because it makes me feel so good!
well, if you would rather go to the play, it is $7.00 a person. I don’t know if your friends would want to pay that much. the game would be about $2 a person. the recital at 3:00 isn’t really my recital, but i will be in most of it because I am accompanying. In case you didn’t know, I am looking forward to seeing you on Saturday!

Happy Wednesday!
Jennifer

____________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Thu, 11 Feb 1999 16:29:06

Subject: Dreaming of Spring 🙂

Jennifer,
Beautiful is an understatement (I’m speaking of the weather of course;-) Don’t get me wrong… I enjoy winter— as long as there’s a lots of snow 🙂 But Wow… the past few days have really been nice 🙂

play?… game?… play?… game? I heard the winter plays are always really good, and I haven’t been to a theatrical performance in a while… so I was leaning that direction. However, upon interrogation of a group of my friends… I found that few would even be available on Saturday. And the ones that will be available are already planning on attending the game. So I guess… game it is 🙂 I assume the recital is in the Ministry Center? And, how formal? Also… a friend of mine (********) who is a senior there is having an informal praise & worship time at his apartment after the game if you and your friends would be interested. I know I always enjoy worshipping God with other believers 🙂

Sorry this is so short. I have to run to school tonight 🙂 Have a great evening 🙂 I’m looking forward to Saturday too! 🙂

Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

_______________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Sat, 13 Feb 1999 03:08:05

Subject: Re: Dreaming of Spring:-)

dear Aaron,
I just wanted to send you a quick note about saturday. the recital will be in the recital hall in the dixon ministry center. it is towards the back of the building. I think you will be able to find it easily. it is definitely not formal, well, at least for the audience 🙂 I hope that you like clarinet music, because there will definitely be a lot of it. well, I better keep this short, since it is rather late. i’ll see you soon!
jennifer

__________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Mon, 15 Feb 1999 16:46:14

Subject: Thank You . . .

I just wanted to send you a quick note letting you know that I had a wonderful time Saturday. Thank you for coming all the way to cedarville and enduring Chuck’s food. I know that must have been difficult.  🙂
I must say that I wasn’t expecting the last surprise. . . and yes, it did end my day with a smile 🙂
thank you,
jennifer

(**The surprise was a rose, or some type of flower. Aaron slipped it to my roommate at the worship gathering who then gave it to me later that evening after he left. I thought he was flirting with her!  **Sorry about the “Chuck’s” jokes. I actually liked the food at Cedarville very much.)
____________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Mon, 15 Feb 1999 16:29:06

Subject: You are more than welcome:-)

Jennifer:-)

First off… you are more than welcome:-):-):-):-) After all, it was the least I could do… the smile you put on my face lasted so long that my muscles are sore:-) Ouch!:-) It hurts just thinking about it;-)

I know I already told you, but let me re-emphasize how great of a time I had Saturday:-) Of course… I was nervous. And, as seems to be typical of you, you were understanding, gracious, and kind:-) Oh yeah… did I mention STUNNING!:-) I have to be honest… when you walked out on stage for the recital… you did it again… you took my breath away from across the room. And just when I thought I might, somehow be able to survive… you started singing… well, there you have it… I died;-) The only thing strong enough to resuscitate me was the thought of spending the rest of the evening with you:-)

Although I could go on forever, you are probably either sick to the stomach, or smiling so big that your ears hurt by now;-) (I hope it is the later.) So I guess I’ll let you recover for now;-)

Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

P.S. Have a WONDERFUL day!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

P.S.S. I hope you are interested in getting together again?:-)

(Continue Reading HERE)

One thought on “The E-Mails: Part 2 “The First Date”

  1. Pingback: The E-Mails: Part 3 “Hearing the Call” – Jennifer Jolene

Leave a Reply

