The E-Mails: Part 1 “Getting Stood Up”

THE SETTING

Mandy Wolfe has informed Aaron that she sent the first email to me (see The E-mail That Started it All). She also informs him that I have not responded to the email yet. There is a huge winter storm and Wednesday services are cancelled at Aaron’s church. Aaron and his friend *****, hear that John MacArthur is speaking at Cedarville for the Bible conference so they decide to drive out there to hear him speak. Aaron immediately sees me sitting in the second pew in the center of the auditorium. After the chapel ends, I sit and talk with two of my friends about their upcoming wedding. The conversation is very, very long and eventually, the only people left in the auditorium are me, my friends, and Aaron. At one point Aaron looks down at his Bible, when he looks back up, I am gone. He quickly sees that I am walking toward the back doors that I had disappeared into last time. He rushes towards me and yells, “Jenny!” I turn and he proceeds to explain who he was and then he says “You are strikingly beautiful and you took my breath away from across the room”. We then exchanged e-mail addresses.)

*I am keeping names of other people in these email’s private unless they have expressly given me permission to include them.

__________________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Thu, 14 Jan 1999 22:29:22

Subject: ~~~~~~~~~~Dashing through the snow…………..

Jennifer?, Jenny?, Jennie?, Jenni?, Jenneeeeeeeeee? 😉

Okay…….. maybe some of those are a little bit of a strrrrrech, but which one is it anyway?

Hi:-) I have to be really honest right up front… I have no idea what to write about 🙂 I’ve been thinking about it all day, I’ve even asked friends for advice, and I haven’t made an inch of headway:-) On one hand, I want to find out as much about you as possible. And on the other, I don’t want you to feel like you’re playing Twenty Questions. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…………… this is so stressful:-) This is a really awkward position for me because I am never at a lack for words:-) Oh well…… here goes:-)

Let me start by saying “Thank you so much for being so kind and gracious last night!:-)” I don’t know how I would react if someone I didn’t even know approached me like that. Your kindness and caring were greatly appreciated:-) I don’t know very much about you, but I can see already that even as strikingly beautiful as you are outside… that’s a mere compliment to the beauty God has created inside of you:-) and like I said, our time on earth is just too short to live with regrets. I was already regretting Friday night because I wanted to talk to you at intermission, but I couldn’t muster the courage, and when I finally did find enough courage to talk to you afterwards, I couldn’t find you:-) and then last night… I could never have lived with myself always regretting that I didn’t meet you:-) I didn’t want to interrupt you. But I gotta be honest… sitting there was killing me:-) Out of desperation, I turned to II Timothy 1:7 — “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, and of love and of self-discipline.” Now granted, when Paul was writing to Timothy he wasn’t referring to Timothy’s demeanor in approaching a girl so beautiful he had to remember to breathe. But it took every ounce of power, love, and self-discipline to hang onto the bit of courage I managed to scrape together. I say all that to say this. It was worth every little bit of effort:-)

Well, I could go on forever, but I’ll spare you:-) I was thinking of something we could do with friends. And although I have no idea what you’re interested in besides music and God (yes…. I did see you raising your hands during some of the worship songs;-) I figured you would probably love to do anything not at or around Cedarville? Well, anyway… I thought maybe a Superbowl party would be fun? I could invite a bunch of friends from church, and you could invite anybody you wanted to. My parents have a seven passenger and an engirt passenger van, and if you really had a lot of people that wanted to come… I could get my church’s fourteen passenger van — and I wouldn’t mind at all picking you guys up, and dropping you all off afterwards. We could have snacks, maybe pizza, pop, board games, cards… oh yeah… and of course a tv.

I could get a Superbowl half-time video, and invite some unsaved friends. After all, you never know when or how God will get through to a person;-) I don’t know…. just a thought. Sound fun? Well, let me know what you think:-)

In His Service,
Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

P.S. Sorry I’m smiling so much……….. I just can’t help it:-) 🙂 🙂 🙂

__________________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Sat, 16 Jan 1999 14:58:32

Subject: Re: ~~~~~~~~~~Dashing through the snow…………..

Aaron,
well, hello there 🙂  You can call me anything between Jen and Jennifer, and I will probably answer to it.  I must say that I am quite impressed that you have done so much just to get to know me, I am also quite humbled. Thank you for all of the kind things you have said, even though I don’t know if I deserve them all. And I think that I am the one who is a at a loss for words 🙂
well, as you probably can tell, I enjoy meeting new people, especially those who share the same passion for God. I am an outgoing person and I am always eager to make new friends. however, in the past, I usually take the first step in meeting new people, so this is a little different for me. I wish more people were as eager to make my acquaintance 🙂
well, I talked to my roommate and she said that she would like to go to a super bowl party and some of my other friends might like to go too. I have a car, so I can drive myself and some of my other friends drive too. Just let me know when and where and I will let you know how many I will be bringing with me. I am looking forward to seeing you again!
Jennifer

__________________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM
Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Mon, 18 Jan 1999 23:29:53

Subject:  Na-noo… Na-noo:-)

“Anything between Jen and Jennifer”,

Well…. I guess it works…. but it doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue;-)
~~”You can call me anything between Jen and Jennifer, and I will probably answer to it.”~~

Okay, maybe that was uncalled for:-) But I’m still a little curious… if I was going to address an e-mail to you as “Jenny”, how would that be spelled…. Jenny…. Jennie…. Jenni? 🙂

Frankly,…. (Did I just say “Frankly”?…. I don’t think I’ve ever used that word before… And I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing:-)… anyway…

Frankly, I have a hard time believing that you have to take the initiative to meet new people the majority of the time. Are you quite sure about that? You seem like the kind of person who attracts attention from everyone:-) I know you sure got my attention!:-) I share you enjoyment for meeting new people. And like you said… “especially those who have a passion for God.” That’s one thing that always amazes me. No matter how different people are (ie. background, upbringing, culture, location, education, financial status, even language) when they both have a REAL passion for God… there’s an instant relationship that’s as if they’ve been best friends from birth:-) That’s part of the reason I’m so interested in you. I really don’t know much of anything about you, but I’ve already see your love for God. And I’ve already seen Him shining through you:-) I guess that’s what’s impressed me the most about you:-) I mean sure… your beauty left me speechless, but what little of your heart I’ve seen has left me breathless:-)

I’m glad you’re going to be able to make it for the Superbowl party:-) And please….. feel free to bring as many friends as you want… there will be plenty of food, fun, and space to go around. I’ve mailed you a map and instructions for getting to my house. Plan on 45 min. to an hour for the drive. And you can arrive anytime after 5p.m. on Superbowl Sunday. There’s no need to bring any food, but if you have a favorite game that you want to bring… be my guest:-) I would appreciate an approximate # by the 29th… if that’s not too much to ask:-) If you have any questions… ask away:-)

I need to get to bed, but I wanted to share a passage with you that I looked at in my quiet time. Luke 21:1-4 is speaking of Jesus and says, “And He looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury. 2 And He saw a poor widow putting in two small copper coins. (Mark says they were worth less than a penny). 3 And He said, “Truly I say to you, this poor widow put in more than all of them; 4 for they all out of their surplus put into the offering; but she out of her poverty put in all that she had to live on.” What would motivate a poor widow to give literally all she had to live on, her very livelihood? Especially when it equaled such a small amount. I think she realized that saying, “I love the Lord my God with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength,” is worthless without actions to prove it. It was just a fresh reminder to make sure that my life is always, and to the fullest extent — even if it costs me my very livelihood— reflecting the commitment I say I have for Him. I hope this passage challenges and encourages you to serve Him more fully today:-)

Looking Forward To Seeing You Again!,
Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

“I cannot do without Thee;
I cannot stand alone;
I have no strength or goodness
No wisdom of my own;

But Thou, beloved Savior,
Art all in all to me,
And weakness will be power,
If leaning hard on Thee.”

P.S.  as if you didn’t already know……………….

OUR GOD IS AWESOME:-) !!!! 🙂 !!!!

__________________________________________________

From: “Jennifer Jolene Abas”
To: morelikehim@juno.com
Date: Sun, 24 Jan 1999 15:42:41

Subject: Re: Na-noo… Na-noo:-)

dear aaron,
Hi there, how are things going for you? I am sorry that it has taken me a while to write back. things have been pretty crazy for me. and unfortunately I have some really bad news, I don’t think that I can come to the super bowl party 😦 I am so sorry to back out like this. when I first said that I could go, I didn’t realize what day we were talking about (i am not very football literate) It happens that January 31st is the same day of my interview at the Cleveland institute of music. i will be going home Friday night and I probably won’t be home until monday. I feel so horrible about this. I really, really wanted to go. I can’t believe it never occurred to me that both things were happening on the same day. if you don’t mind though, I would still like to do something with you. please let me know and I promise to check my calendar first 🙂 I hope that you and your friends have a good time at your party. . .hope to hear from you soon!

Jennifer

__________________________________________________

From: morelikeHIM

Full-Name: Aaron C. Deal
To: Jenny
Date: Mon, 18 Jan 1999 23:29:53

Subject:  Ouch, Ouch, Ouch, Oooooouuuuuuuucccccchhhh:-(

Jennifer,

Sorry about the heading:-( That was the only thing I could think to say:-( I was so looking forward to you being there:-( But don’t worry… I know the best Counselor ever, and I’m sure that with his help… I’ll survive:-) And you don’t have to apologize. I know all too well from my friends there that Cedarville College students (especially music majors) are some of the busiest students of any college anywhere:-)

Apart from my recent e-mail… things here are going great:-) One of the neatest things that God is doing right now is through my friend *****. he came to church a couple of months ago (after being gone for about 7 years) and pulled me aside. He said, “I know I need to get my life right with God, but I just don’t know where to start.” Needless to say, I told him that I’d love to help, but I was just too busy and he’d have to wait a couple months. NOT!!;-) He rededicated his life to God, got right some sin issues, and this has been the most rewarding discipleship relationship I have ever had the privilege of having  apart in. Do you ever just sit back and wonder why God would use you? Well, I know I do:-) ***** has really been growing. He’s clearly in love with the Savior. It’s so awesome to think that God would let me have a part in it!!!!:-) And what’s more… God has used ***** to reach out to his friends. To date (and keep in mind… this has just been several months) two of his friends have recently accepted Christ, and one of his friends has recently rededicated his life. All of them are actively involved in the process of discipleship themselves as they seek to grow into closer and closer relationships with God. And that’s not even mentioning all the other neat doors the Lord has been opening to *****. It is just so exciting to see the process of spiritual multiplication happening!:-) Our God is TRULY AWESOME!!:-):-)

Hey this interview sounds pretty exciting too!:-) Upon your certain acceptance;-)… how many years do you think you’ll be there? And what exactly will you be doing there? Ohhh, by the way, you should receive something in the mail by the end of this week. I don’t know if you even noticed, but the night we met, I was so nervous that I walked right out the door with something of yours. Curious? Or did you notice? Oh well, I guess you’ll have to wait to find out. I thought about returning it in person, but I figured you’d probably see right through that excuse. Not too many people (including myself) would actually drive 45 minutes to return ___________ — you didn’t actually think I’d spoil the surprise did you;-) Well, I wouldn’t have been driving that far just to return that anyway:-) So needless to say, OF COURSE I would still like to do something with you:-) After all, it’s not everyday (or any day for that matter) that I get the chance to have my breath taken away from across a room:-) I’ll get back with you on that one (as soon as I figure out what to do:-)

Aaron

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.”
Gal. 2:20
><///‘> read John 15:4-5 <‘ \\\><

P.S. It’s pretty neat how God works, huh? You see, I was so worried (or rather pre-occupied) with making sure that you would be impressed at the party. That i probably wouldn’t have even noticed the non-believers that I’m sure God will have there. He takes such good care of me:-)

Another P.S. I’ll be praying for you about this weekend. Have a great time at home:-)

__________________________________________________

Continue Reading Part 2 HERE

One thought on “The E-Mails: Part 1 “Getting Stood Up”

  1. Pingback: The E-Mails: Part 3 “Hearing the Call” – Jennifer Jolene

Leave a Reply

